Medical Marijuana Limits per State

There are 31 states and Washington D.C. that have medical marijuana laws. Recreational marijuana makes up 9 states plus Washington D. C.

In Alaska there are both recreational and medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 1998 with Ballot Measure 8 at a 58% approval rate. It allows for patients or their caregivers to possess up to 1 ounce of usable marijuana. They may grow no more than 6 marijuana plants, 3 mature and 3 immature. There is a state registry.

In Arizona there are only medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 2010 with Proposition 203 at a 50% approval rate. It allows for patients or their caregivers to possess up to 2.5 ounces of usable marijuana in a 14 day period. If a patient resides more than 25 miles from a nonprofit dispensary they may grow no more than 12 marijuana plants. This must be done in an enclosed and secure facility. There is a state registry.

In Arkansas there are only medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 2016 with Ballot Measure Issue 6 at a 53% approval rate. It allows for patients or their caregivers to possess up to 2.5 ounces of usable marijuana in a 14 day period. They do not have cultivation laws. There is a state registry.

In California there are both recreational and medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 1996 with Proposition 215 at a 56% approval rate. It allows for patients or their caregivers to possess up to 8 ounces of usable marijuana. They may grow no more than 18 marijuana plants, 6 mature and 12 immature. There is a non mandated state registry.

In Colorado there are both recreational and medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 2000 with Ballot Amendment 20 at a 54% approval rate. It allows for patients or their caregivers to possess up to 2 ounces of usable marijuana. They may grow no more than 6 marijuana plants, 3 mature and 3 immature. There is a mandated state registry.

In Connecticut there are only medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 2012 with House Bill 5389. It allows for patients or their caregivers to possess up to 2.5 ounces of usable marijuana. There are no cultivation laws. There is a state registry.

In Delaware there are only medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 2011 with Senate Bill 17. It allows for patients or their caregivers to possess up to 6 ounces of usable marijuana. There are no cultivation laws. There is a state registry.

Medical Marijuana- finddankweed

In Florida there are only medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 2016 with Ballot Amendment 2 with a 71% approval rate. It will be determined how much quantity a patient or their caregivers will be allowed to possess. There are no cultivation laws. There is a state registry.

In Hawaii there are only medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 2000 with Senate Bill 862. It allows for patients or their caregivers to possess up to 4 ounces of usable marijuana. They may grow no more than 10 marijuana plants. There is a state registry.

In Illinois there are only medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 2013 with House Bill 1. It allows for patients or their caregivers to possess up to 2.5 ounces of usable marijuana during a 14 day period. There are no cultivation laws. There is a state registry.

In Louisiana there are only medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 2016 with Senate Bill 271. It will be determined how much quantity a patient or their caregivers will be allowed to possess for a 1 month supply. There are no cultivation laws at the time. There is a state registry.

In Maine there are both recreational and medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 1999 with Senate Bill 611. It allows for patients or their caregivers to possess up to 2.5 ounces of usable marijuana. They may grow no more than 6 marijuana plants, 6 mature and 12 immature. There is a non mandated state registry.

In Maryland there are only medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 2014 with House Bill 881. It will be determined how much quantity a patient or their caregivers will be allowed to possess for a 1 month supply. There are no cultivation laws at the time. There is a state registry.

In Massachusetts there are both recreational and medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 2012 with Ballot Question Bill 3 with a 63% approval rate. It allows for patients or their caregivers to possess up to 10 ounces of usable marijuana for a 60 day supply. Cultivation is determined by state registry on an individual basis. There is a mandated state registry.

In Michigan there are only medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 2008 with Proposal 1 at a 63% approval rate. It allows for patients or their caregivers to possess up to 2.5 ounces of usable marijuana. They may grow no more than 12 marijuana plants. This must be done in an enclosed and secure facility. There is a state registry.

In Minnesota there are only medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 2014 with Senate Bill 2470. It will be determined how much quantity a patient or their caregivers will be allowed to possess for a 1 month supply on non smokable marijuana. There are no cultivation laws at the time. There is a state registry.

In Montana there are only medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 2004 with Initiative 148 at a 62% approval rate. It allows for patients or their caregivers to possess up to 1 ounce of usable marijuana. They may grow no more than 16 marijuana plants, 4 mature and 12 immature. There is a state registry.

In Nevada there are both recreational and medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 2000 with Ballot Question 9 at a 65% approval rate. It allows for patients or their caregivers to possess up to 2.5 ounces of usable marijuana. They may grow no more than 12 marijuana plants. There is a mandated state registry.

In New Hampshire there are only medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 2013 with House Bill 573. It allows for patients or their caregivers to possess up to 2 ounces of usable marijuana in a 10 day period. They may grow no more than 16 marijuana plants, 4 mature and 12 immature. There is a state registry.

In New Jersey there are only medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 2010 with Senate Bill 119. It allows for patients or their caregivers to possess up to 2 ounces of usable marijuana. They are no cultivation laws. There is a state registry.

In New Mexico there are only medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 2007 with House Bill 523. It allows for patients or their caregivers to possess up to 6 ounces of usable marijuana. They may grow no more than 16 marijuana plants, 4 mature and 12 immature. There is a state registry.

In New York there are only medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 2014 with Assembly Bill 6357. It allows for patients or their caregivers to possess a 30 day supply of non smokable marijuana. There are no cultivation laws. There is a state registry.

In North Dakota there are only medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 2016 with Ballot Measure 5 at a 63% approval rate. It allows for patients or their caregivers to possess up to 3 ounces per 14 day supply. There are no cultivation laws. There is a state registry.

In Ohio there are only medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 2016 with House Bill 523. It allows for patients or their caregivers to possess up to 90 day supply, to be determined. There are no cultivation laws. There is a state registry.

In Oklahoma there are only medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 2018 with Ballot Question 788 at a 56% approval rate. It allows for patients or their caregivers to possess up to 3 ounces of usable marijuana on person and 8 ounces at residency. They may grow no more than 12 marijuana plants, 6 mature and 6 immature. There is a state registry.

Medical Marijuana Limits per State- Finddankweed1

In Oregon there are both recreational and medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 1998 with Ballot Measure 67 at a 55% approval rate. It allows for patients or their caregivers to possess up to 24 ounce of usable marijuana. They may grow no more than 24 marijuana plants, 6 mature and 18 immature. There is a mandated state registry.

In Pennsylvania there are only medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 2016 with Senate Bill 3. It allows for patients or their caregivers to possess up to 30 day supply, to be determined. There are no cultivation laws. There is a state registry.

In Rhode Island there are only medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 2006 with Senate Bill 0710. It allows for patients or their caregivers to possess up to 2.5 ounces of usable marijuana. They may grow no more than 12 marijuana plants. There is a state registry.

In Vermont there are both recreational and medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 2004 with Senate Bill 76. It allows for patients or their caregivers to possess up to 2 ounces of usable marijuana. They may grow no more than 9 marijuana plants, 2 mature and 7 immature. There is a state registry.

In Washington there are both recreational and medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 1998 with Initiative 692 at a 59% approval rate. It allows for patients or their caregivers to possess up to 8 ounce of usable marijuana. They may grow no more than 6 marijuana plants. There is a non mandated state registry.

In West Virginia there are only medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 2017 with Senate Bill 386. It will be determined how much quantity a patient or their caregivers will be allowed to possess for a 30 day supply. There are no cultivation laws at the moment. There is a state registry.

In Washington D.C. there are both recreational and medical marijuana laws. They passed their first law in 2010 with Amendment Act B18-622. It allows for patients or their caregivers to possess up to 2 ounces of usable dried marijuana. There are no cultivation laws at the moment. There is a state registry.

 

Your Comments

Content

Suscribe for free E-book

Want to learn How to Grow Cannabis Indoors?

To download our free E-book "How to Grow Cannabis Indoors" please click here.