Medical Marijuana Lawyers Stand For Cannabis Legalization

How many medical and recreational marijuana states are there as of 2017?

As of 2017, it is true that 29 states of the 50 United States now allow the use of medical cannabis and this also includes the District of Columbia. There are different qualifying medical conditions for each medical marijuana state so do some research and see what can qualify you for a weed card. In many anti-marijuana states, there are still quite strict laws regarding the possession and / or the cultivation of cannabis. The penalties for violating those laws that could include huge fines and considerable jail time if caught selling marijuana illegitimately. Different states have different rules regarding the cannabis-related regulations and corresponding punishments. Lawyers specializing in marijuana law  can provide the appropriate legal guidance related to cannabis in your area.

In what states can I buy recreational marijuana?

As of 2017, there are eight states where recreational marijuana can be purchased in a cannabis dispensary. These eight states where recreational marijuana is legal are: Alaska, California, Colorado, Oregon, Massachusetts, Maine, Nevada, and Washington. California is projected to surpass Colorado in the recreational marijuana market since recreational cannabis was legalized in 2017.

Here is a map of the current 2017 medical marijuana states:

recreational medical marijuana states map

Photo credit: Marijuana State Map

A summary of cannabis laws per state for major marijuana markets

California Cannabis Laws:

Lawyers with knowledge of marijuana law will tell you that the law has decriminalized possession of up to an ounce of cannabis. A marijuana grower can legally grow up to 6 plants. If anyone wants to grow more than 6 marijuana plants, a cannabis grower will need to apply to get a state license. California was the first state to allow marijuana for medical use in 1996 with the passing of Proposition 215. Proposition 64 has made marijuana legal for recreational use in Nov 2016.

Colorado Cannabis Laws:

According to the cannabis lawyers in Colorado, it is legal to possess up to 1 ounce. A marijuana grower can grow up to 6 plants and if they needed to grow more, they would need to apply for a commercial marijuana grower permit with the State of Colorado.

Oregon Cannabis Laws:

It is legal in Oregon laws related to marijuana to transport up to an ounce of marijuana or more if you are a cannabis cultivator. There is no fine for possessing an ounce of weed on your person. People that are 21 years of age or older are allowed to grow up to 4 cannabis plants in each household.

Washington Cannabis Laws:

Washington marijuana law allows a person to carry up to an ounce. The one catch is you have to be at least 21 years of age. The state allows for commercial marijuana growing and one would need to be licensed with the state. Normally, the law does not allow people to grow cannabis except for medical marijuana patients who can grow up to 4 cannabis plants in their homes.


Photo Source:


Some tips when going to purchase some recreational marijuana:

Due to state requirements, all cannabis dispensaries will require a photo ID, so don’t forget your ID. The marijuana dispensaries will need to track their cannabis products and who buys them. These dispensaries will not have a way to process debit or credit cards so you need to bring cash. There is also an age requirement for individuals looking to purchase recreational marijuana and that age is 21 years of age. If you are 18 years old, you will need to get a medical marijuana recommendation to get access to cannabis.

Your Comments


Suscribe for free E-book

Want to learn How to Grow Cannabis Indoors?

To download our free E-book "How to Grow Cannabis Indoors" please click here.